Moving

So many boxes
A lifetime sorted out
What can be kept, what is left behind?
So many decisions

Life it seems is too short
Though we are ready for heaven
One can look forward, yet wait
Why rush what is certain?

So many study delaying the inevitable!
there is a desire to wait longer
Is it fear, or is it desperation
So many want a 25th hour in the day

Still sorting, so much to sort
Putting books into boxes
Questioning what will come tomorrow
Wondering if ownership is possible

A life is spent accumulating
The end of life is spent de-accumulating,
We enter the world naked,
We leave just as we entered

Sorting, packing, and evaluating
Ready to cry, as the future seems sure
Sometimes the mind wonders at the purpose
Could life itself be vanity?

Perhaps this is the nature of faith
Facing those tasks that nature gives

Published by

michaeldavidjay

Pastor at Raysville Friends Church

2 thoughts on “Moving”

  1. I remember this feeling when I helped pack up my grandparent’s belonging so they could both go into the nursing home. It is a sad feeling to see grandparent’s lives packed into boxes. Love you, hope you feel better tomorrow:)

  2. Michael, I enjoy reading your thoughts. Wish I was so good expressing my thoughts on paper. I am thankful for you and your brothers. You each have a special place in my heart. Thanks for being YOU!! Love Mome

Leave a comment