I pray for a miracle

We live in a world that places revenge above justice
My faith teaches mercy and forgiveness
It seems mercy is nowhere to be found
I pray for a miracle

Every day there are whispers of my neighbor’s sinfulness
Condemnation without her ever able to answer the accusations
The Bible I read puts gossip next to murder when listing sins
I pray for a miracle

I read how all of humanity was created in God’s image
How cursing another invalidates the praise of God
Yet these blessings and cursing fall from my own mouth
I pray for a miracle

I do not love as well as Christ taught me
Studying does little but teach me how little I understand
What I do understand seems impossible… so
I pray for a miracle

Leave a Reply

