Amazing Grace

He sent some heaven to this Earth
His Son, the Spirit too
Christ has been with us from our birth
And made our lives brand new

Christ put heaven into our hearts
Its here just as we are
Heaven’s kingdom the church imparts
Its near as well as far

The church sings at the gates of hell
With songs of praise and joy
With us, the angels sing as well
Those gates we will destroy


Almost everyone loves poetry, whether they know it or not. When we sing, we are reciting poetry to music, when we listen to a song, because we love the lyrics, our first love is the poem. (I love orchestral music. I always wish that composition was my talent).

As an example, I wrote three stanza’s, 8,6,8,6 abab rhyme scheme. This form of poetry can be sung to the tune of Amazing Grace, or if you prefer the Ballad of Gilligan’s isle… though, the content is more appropriate as more verses for “Amazing Grace”. (Expanding hymns is a fun challenge, I think I will try a few more — any ideas?)

4 comments on “Amazing Grace

  1. Angelique says:

    My favorites are “The Old Rugged Cross”, “In the Garden”, “How Great Thou Art”, and “His Eye is on the Sparrow”. I liked these expanded verses. Great job Michael.

    • Ok… “In the Garden”, and “His Eye is on the Sparrow”, I do not see how I could add to either of those. I will have to study the other two… we will see.

  2. bomi says:

    This is done so well, Michael. My worry in exploring this new interest is that it might dilute the seriousness of the original verse, but you’ve kept the integrity of this one. I can’t wait to read more of the kind.

    • You pay me a very high complement! It is difficult to not dilute the best known moments where poetry, music, and theology meet. I will try to increase the kind (though, these take some extra special effort.)

Leave a Reply

